14Mar

Swiss Company Takes $100 Mil. Fraud Hit

Fraud Also Hits Reputation and Complicates Investor Relationship

A global Swiss engineering firm has booked a $100 million charge as the result of a “sophisticated criminal scheme” allegedly masterminded by the company’s former treasurer in their South Korean office. The theft included $31.2 million allegedly stolen by the perpetrator by sending money to his personal bank accounts.

The CEO of the company said that due to the large sums of money stolen and the sophistication of the crime, third parties were likely involved. He also was very concerned about the reputation of the company taking a hit because of the crime.  Additionally, analysts conjecture that the theft might complicate an ongoing battle with an activist shareholder.

The former treasurer has vanished and the company is working with Interpol and local legal authorities on the matter.

Click here for the full story.

“If you see something, say something.”

The CEO of the company commented, “In our subsidiary in South Korea, our value of integrity was not being lived by everyone nor was our ‘Don’t look the other way’ approach.” This is a telling statement and a lesson for all companies. 

Analogous to the national security mantra, “If you see something, say something.”, we must all promote an organizational culture that encourages employees to act upon their suspicions when something does not “feel” right to them; encourage them to ask additional questions or notify a supervisor. Front line employees are the best defense against fraud, particularly when they are supported by a comprehensive and diligently enforced set of policies and procedures.

Before a Loss Occurs…

Make sure your clients have crime insurance. Take the steps to ensure that your clients are covered and call one of the Berkley Crime team members listed below.

Call Berkley Crime today, we’ll help you and your clients get the right coverage, quickly.

——————————————————————-

National Practice Leader
Sean Missal
(860) 466-7377
smissal@berkleycrime.com

Mid-West Regional Mgr.
Michael Beranek
(501) 707-6548
mberanek@berkleycrime.com

East Regional Manager
Matt McNamara 
(212) 497-3707
mmcnamara@berkleycrime.com

Amanda VanCauwenberge 
(312) 730-1101
avancauwenberge@berkleycrime.com

Patricia Logan 
(212) 497-3708
plogan@berkleycrime.com

Thomas Trieloff
(312) 705-1132
ttrieloff@berkleycrime.com

Cheryl Yorio 
(860) 466-7379
cyorio@berkleycrime.com

Everton Barrington, FLMI
(860) 466-7376
ebarrington@berkleycrime.com

Alexander Doerflein 
(212) 497-3724
adoerflein@berkleycrime.com

West Regional Manager
Jennifer Maggi 
(213) 417-5467
jmaggi@berkleycrime.com

Adam Pardi 
(212) 497-3704
apardi@berkleycrime.com

 

Steve Nguyen 
(925) 472-8233
snguyen@berkleycrime.co

Experts focused on your protection.
We deliver.

P: 844.44.CRIME
info@berkleycrime.com
www.berkleycrime.com

Products and services are provided by one or more insurance company subsidiaries of W. R. Berkley Corporation. Not all products and services are available in every jurisdiction, and the precise coverage afforded by any insurer is subject to the actual terms and conditions of the policies as issued. Certain coverages may be provided through surplus lines insurance company subsidiaries of W. R. Berkley Corporation through licensed surplus lines brokers. Surplus lines insurers do not generally participate in state guaranty funds and insureds are therefore not protected by such funds.

For additional information concerning W.R. Berkley Corporation’s insurance company subsidiaries, please visit: http://wrbc.info/Licensing/License.htm